Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Who should I contact?

    At your child’s school

    The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

    The School Principal/Assistant Principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

    School contact directory →

    District Central Office

    The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible. When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

    Special Education Office contact information →

    Program Specialists

    Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have Program Specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program Specialists are Special Education Teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

    Regional Program Specialist Directory →

    Special Education Regional Supervisors

    Special Education Supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and Program Specialists are able to address.

    Regional Supervisor Directory →

    Program Supervisor Directory →

    Directors

    The Director of School-Based Special Education and the Director of Special Education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

    Director information →



    Department of Special Education Services

    specialed@seattleschools.org

    206-252-0058

    Fax: 206-252-0053


    Special Education Records

    spedrecords@seattleschools.org

    206-252-0892

    Fax: 206-252-0895


    Referral to Special Education

    Birth to 3 years of age

    Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

    3 to 21 years of age

    ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

    Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

    NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools


    Regional Supervisors and Program Specialists

    Northeast Region

    Northeast Regional Supervisor

    Mike Bylsma

    mebylsma@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3556

    Northeast Regional Program Specialists

    Michelle Bammert

    mtbammert@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0824
    photo of Michelle Bammert

    Schools:

    • Bryant
    • Cascade Parent Partnership
    • Eckstein
    • Green Lake
    • Hazel Wolf
    • John Rogers
    • Roosevelt
    • Sand Point
    • TOPS
    • Wedgwood

     

    Elaine Parnell

    eeparnell@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0875
    photo of Elaine Parnell

    Schools:

    • Cedar Park
    • Decatur
    • Jane Addams
    • Laurelhurst
    • Nathan Hale
    • Olympic Hills
    • Olympic View
    • Sacajawea
    • Thornton Creek K-5
    • View Ridge

     

    Northwest Region

    Northwest Regional Supervisor

    Teresa Swanson

    taswanson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0876
    photo of Theresa Swanson

    Northwest Regional Program Specialists

    Catherine Cook

    cmcook@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0863
    photo of Catherine Cook

    Schools:

    • Ballard High School
    • Ingram
    • Licton Springs
    • Northgate
    • Rober Eagle Staff
    • Salmon Bay K-8
    • Viewlands
    • West Woodland
    • Whitman
    • Whittier
    Caitlin O'Shea

    cmoshea@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0132

    Schools:

    • Adams
    • Bagley
    • BF Day
    • Broadview Thomson
    • Cascadia
    • Center School
    • Greenwood
    • Hamilton International Middle School
    • John Stanford International
    • McDonald
    • North Beach

    Central Region

    Central Regional Supervisor

    Devin Gurley

    dkgurley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0874
    photo of Devin Gurley

    Central Regional Program Specialists

    Amanda McNaughton

    ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0846
    photo of amanda mcnaughton

    Schools:

    • Bailey Gatzert
    • Frantz Coe
    • Franklin
    • John Hay
    • John Muir
    • Leschi
    • McGilvra
    • Meany
    • Seattle World School
    • Washington

     

    Jenn Pelland

    japelland@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0845 

    Schools:

    • Catherine Blaine
    • Garfield
    • Lawton
    • Lowell
    • Madrona
    • McClure
    • Montlake
    • NOVA
    • Queen Anne
    • Stevens
    • Thurgood Marshall

     

    Southeast Region

    Southeast Regional Supervisor

    Beth Thorson

    bmthorson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0262
    photo of Beth Thorson

    SE Regional Program Specialists

    Marcella Helgeson

    mehelgeson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0861
    photo of Marcella Helgeson

    Schools:

    • Cleveland
    • Mercer
    • Hawthorne
    • Interagency Academy
    • Aki Kurose
    • Rainier Beach
    • South Lake
    • South Shore K-8
    • Emerson

     

    Lisa Young

    lmyoung@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3544

    Schools:

    • Beacon Hill International
    • Dearborn Park
    • Martin Luther King Jr.
    • Graham Hill
    • Kimball
    • Maple
    • Dunlap
    • Orca K-8
    • Rainier View
    • Wing Luke
    • Van Asselt

     

    Southwest Region

    Southwest Regional Supervisor

    Gordon Fowlds

    gsfowlds@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0886
    photo of Gordon Fowlds

    Southwest Regional Program Specialists

    Judy Ferguson

    juferguson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0841

    Schools:

    • Alki
    • Arbor Heights
    • Concord
    • Fairmount Park
    • Highland Park
    • Lafayette
    • Madison
    • Middle College
    • Pathfinder
    • West Seattle High School
    Emily Caucci

    erdrossman@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0969
    Emily Caucci photo

    Schools:

    • Chief Sealth
    • Denny
    • Gatewood
    • Genesee Hill
    • Roxhill
    • Sanislo
    • Louisa Boren
    • West Seattle Elementary

    Programs

    Early Childhood (Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

    Early Childhood Supervisor

    Elizabeth Carter

    ercarter@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0665
    photo of Beth Carter

    Preschool Program Specialists

    James Alyson

    jwalyson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0849

    Birth-to-three Coordinator

    Heidi Gainer

    hgainer@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0835

    Preschool Admin Data Specialist

    Teresa Golden

    tmgolden@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0809

    Private School Referrals/Service Plans

    privateschoolservices@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0800

    Supervisor

    Robin Olney

    reolney@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0870
    photo of Robin Olney

    Private School Program Specialists

    Katie Hardeman

    kmhardeman@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0862

    Stephanie Rincon

    skrincon@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0860

    Private School Admin Specialist

    Lexi Garberg

    legarberg@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0495

    Vision and Deaf/Hard of Hearing

    Supervisor

    Michael Dickneite

    msdickneite@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0332
    photo of Michael Dickneite

    18 – 21-year-old Transition/BRIDGES

    Sherry Studley

    srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-9934
    photo of Sherry Studley

    Program Specialist

    Glen Boyd

    gmboyd@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0837
    photo of Glen Boyd

    504 Plans

    504 Coordinator

    Shanon Lewis

    sdlewis@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0885



    Directors

    Chief of Student Support Services

    Wyeth Jessee

    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0830
    photo of Wyeth Jessee

    Director of Special Education

    Trish Campbell

    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058
    photo of Trish Campbell

    Director of Special Education School Based Services

    Nicole Fitch

    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058
    Nicole Fitch photo

    Director of Special Education Operations

    Beth Mills

    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058
    Beth Mills photo

    Director of Student Support Services

    Kari Hanson

    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058
    photo of Kari Hanson