Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    2019-20 school event calendar
    Posted on 05/01/2019
    Calendar

    2019-20 School Year Calendar

    The 2019-20 School Year Calendar, dates listed below, was approved by the School Board in January 2019. The school calendar is negotiated between Seattle Education Association and the district.

    School Year Dates

    Students are released 75 minutes early every Wednesday, except for the first day of school. This is to support improved teacher collaboration and student academic performance.

    Aug. 19 – 23 Jump Start, a sneak peek at school for incoming kindergartners. Read more about Jump Start.

    Wed., Sept. 4, 2019 First day of school for 1st – 12 grade students (regular school hours apply, no early release)

    Wed., Sept. 4 – Fri., Sept. 6 Family Connection Conferences for incoming kindergarten and preschool families. Read more about Family Connections Conferences.

    Mon., Sept. 9 First day of school for kindergarten, Seattle Preschool Program and full-day Head Start students (three-day delayed start for Family Connection)

    Fri., Oct. 11 State In-service Day (no school)

    Mon., Nov. 11 Veterans Day (no school)

    Nov. 25 – 27 Elementary conference days (no school for elementary and K-8 students; varies by school)

    Nov. 28 – 29 Thanksgiving break (no school) Nov. 28 Thanksgiving, Nov. 29 Native American Heritage Day

    Fri., Dec. 20 1-hour early dismissal (winter break)

    Dec. 23, 2019 – Jan. 3, 2020 Winter break (no school)

    Mon., Jan. 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no school)

    Tues., Jan. 28 Day between semesters (no school) *possible snow make-up day (1 of 3)

    Feb. 17 – 21 Mid-winter break including Presidents Day (no school)

    April 13 – 17 Spring break (no school)

    Mon., May 25 Memorial Day (no school)

    Thurs., June 18, 2020 Last